Tasmanian Liberals

Tasmanian Liberals

2015-16 Budget

201516 Budget Square 2

Email Newsletter


Find me on Facebook

Click on the slide!

Tasmania's Budget 2015-16: Back in Business

News >> Media Releases

The 2015-16 Tasmanian Budget contains important initiatives and projects, particularly for Denison.  

Click on the slide!


Read more about Elise's responsibilities as Speaker of the House of Assembly and Liberal Member for Denison.

Frontpage Slideshow (version 2.0.0) - Copyright © 2006-2008 by JoomlaWorks


Conference in Safe Hands
Friday, 9 October 2015
Tasmania is this weekend playing host to 300 delegates attending the 24th Annual Australasian Military Medicine Association (AMMA) Conference. AMMA is an independent organisation of health professionals with the objectives of promoting the study and research of military medicine and veteran’s... Read more...
Statement from the Speaker
Wednesday, 23 September 2015
It is a fundamental tenet of Parliamentary practice that any Speaker’s actions may only be criticised by a substantive motion being moved in the House. Any reflection on the character or actions of the Speaker inside or outside the House is highly disorderly as, by convention, a Speaker does not... Read more...
Welcome revitalisation for Sandy Bay Shopping Plaza
Monday, 21 September 2015
This afternoon I was pleased to unveil a much needed new shade and weather sail at the Mayfair Plaza Shopping Complex in Sandy Bay. This will be the first time the sail has been replaced since the complex was built in 1987. The replacement of the sail cloth and high pressure cleaning is the first... Read more...
Upgrades see South Hobart kicking goals
Tuesday, 11 August 2015
Much needed upgrades to facilities at Wellesley Park in South Hobart are on track to be completed by Christmas. The ground is home to the South Hobart Football Club (SHFC), one of the oldest soccer clubs in Australia, having played its first game 105 years ago. $1.6 million in improvements at... Read more...

I am privileged and proud to represent the people of Denison, which is a dynamic electorate with outstanding natural, cultural, social and economic qualities.
Denison is named after Sir William Denison who was Lieutenant Governor of Van Diemen’s Land (as Tasmania was then known) from 1847 until 1855.
The 289 square kilometre electorate is located in southern Tasmania and has a diverse mix of metropolitan and rural areas - nestled between picturesque Mount Wellington and the western shore of the River Derwent.
Denison includes the Local Government areas of the City of Hobart, the City of Glenorchy and part of the Municipality of Kingborough.
Stretching from Austins Ferry down to Bonnet Hill and Longley in the south, Denison extends west out to Collinsvale.
Suburbs include Claremont, Chigwell, Collinsvale, Berriedale, Rosetta, Montrose, Goodwood, Moonah, Derwent Park, Lutana, New Town, Lenah Valley, Mount Stuart, North Hobart, West Hobart, Battery Point, Dynnyrne, Mount Nelson, Sandy Bay, Taroona, Tolmans Hill, Ridgeway, South Hobart, Fern Tree and Neika.
Denison’s major employment sectors include government and public administration, health care, construction and trades, manufacturing and retail, as well as tourism and hospitality, with the MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) at Berriedale, the Cadbury chocolate factory at Claremont and Salamanca Market in Salamanca Place near Hobart’s waterfront.
Education, training and science are also vital sectors for Denison, with the University of Tasmania’s main campus at Sandy Bay, the Institute of Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS) on Hobart’s waterfront, and the Medical Precinct and Menzies Institute for Medical Research in the city’s CBD.
The electorate boasts all the benefits of living in a city, is easily accessible, offers an idyllic lifestyle and has a strong sense of community. Denison’s people are its best quality.